They had me at “Gloria”

I am still on a high. A U2 high. I took a ‘U2 vacation’ at the end of last month.

I have been a die hard, hard core, silly fan girly fan of the band since the early 80s. As in very early 80s.

I had little social life in high school and usually spent my Friday and Saturday nights staying up until obscene thirty to watch MTV and Friday Night Videos. One night, as I was flipping through channels, I came across a music video.

It was four boys on a barge, in the  middle of a river that was oh so obviously no where in the States and they were singing about a Gloria.

After I picked my jaw up off the floor, and paid attention to the little blurb at the end of the video that told me who they were, I raided my babysitting money.

Back then (Can I date myself anymore!?), VCRs cost a first born child. I was saving up my babysitting money to buy one so I could tape all the really cool, OMG kick ass videos I was seeing on those late nights. The Cure, Depeche Mode, Ministry, Human League, the list goes on.

I was (and still am) horrible at saving. I had more or less duck taped a shoe box three ways til Sunday and cut a slit in the top and shoved most of they money I picked up from babysitting and my allowance in the box.

The band was this band called U2. I knew NOTHING about them. All I knew was that I had to have this album and whatever else they had done. I all but sawed open the shoe box and took all the money out. I’m guessing it was around $60. (For reference, VCRs back then cost somewhere in the neighborhood of $400. I obviously had quite a ways to go)

I trotted over to the record store in my neighborhood and at the cassette counter asked for “October”. CDs weren’t quite in yet. It was really all about cassettes. Albums were still a thing but really, it was all about cassettes.

The employee working the cassette counter gave me a funny look. “You’re the third person in the last five minutes who has asked me that. I’m all out.” Seeing my crestfallen look, he then added, “But I might have the album, let me show you.”

I followed him over to the bin of ‘U’s. He pulled out three. “Boy”, “October”, and “War”.

“This is what I have, is that ok?”

I all but snatched them out of his hands, “Yes, I’ll take all three.”

All I saw was one video. Of a group of kids. On a barge. Singing.

The rest is history.

Leave a Reply

