staycation

I really don’t like that word, but it’s an accurate description of when I have time off and don’t go anywhere.

I’m on day 6 of 9. I’ve done some cooking, a few things for dinner that I haven’t tried before. I’ve been binge watching (again) my way through “Downton Abbey”, seasons 1-3. I’ve got a birthday next month and I guess I will be treating myself to seasons 4 and 5.

It’s been much needed time off from work. I’ve heard of a few tidbits of silly drama and gossip here and there but nothing over alll that I’ve really missed.

I’d like to go to the zoo but tomorrow looks like it’s going to storm all day, so that really leaves Wednesday if I go. While Chicago has an incredible zoo (FREE!), I always wind up at just going to see the big cats. I could spend hours (and have done so in the past) just watching them. In so many ways, they are like their small feline cousins.

I sat on the beach for a couple of nights, watching the meteor shower, I saw some good ones and a few satellites. I got up an hour before dawn a couple of times to watch the sun rise.

Basically, I’ve done a lot of nothing. It’s been a good time off so far.

Leave a Reply

