ten years

I’m writing this now, while it’s fresh in my mind. While the feelings are there and want to come out.

Saturday will be ten years.

I would like to think that I should not have to explain what ten years ago was.

I will never forget.

I will never forgive our government, on every level, for what they did, or rather how they failed my home town.

So much of my child hood, so much of what makes me, ME was washed away ten years ago.

My city lost so much.

In many ways it has come back. In many ways, things have changed, for the better.

But I know so many people who are, TEN FUCKING YEARS later, still struggling.

I guess I am still angry. And I wasn’t even living there at the time. I was up here, watching it. Feeling very helpless. Watching that fucking bitch devastate the city of my birth. Watching an inept president, governor and mayor as they tried, or rather, let’s be honest, not tried to help.

Ten years.

No mater where I live, my home town will always be in my heart and soul.

I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

