the other soul mate

I’m a firm believer that we all have a soul mate. And maybe even more than one. I’m married to one and I’m lucky enough to have at least seen the other.

Years ago, my then boyfriend (now husband) and I were on our way home from work. We got on the El and he promptly dozed off. Someone across the aisle caught my eye.

To this day what he looks like is etched in my mind. I know without a doubt that if my husband was not in my life at that point that this (literally) stranger on a train and I would be together. The connection between us was that strong and that THERE.

There was an instant connection. We spent the entire hour ride glancing at each other. He saw into me. He read my mind. I saw into his soul. I have no other real way to describe it.

Naturally I have never seen him since. And I’d probably lose my shit if I did.

Leave a Reply

