the right head space

I was not in that this morning. At. All.

I woke up to realize that I’ve gotten over the shock of what happened over the weekend and am probably hovering over the ‘why me/what did I do wrong’ part.

I know I did nothing wrong. I made what in hindsight was probably a really stupid mistake, but I did nothing WRONG. That and the store manager had it out for me because I was not willing to be a minion, so.

I’ve kept busy today. My husband is off, so after I had a slightly uncomfortable (but needed) meeting with HR (in a silly attempt to tell my side of the story in hopes that I’ll get unemployment. Not likely but had to try, right?), we walked to the grocery store and did some serious stocking up.

Walking there and back certainly gave me my fitbit steps for the day.

On a slightly brighter note, I do have a part time job lined up. A friend who I used to work with a few years back has worked her way up to assistant manager at a cooking store and when I told her what happened, she said she still had to go through the formalities of interviewing me but the job is mine. So yay for small favors!

Since I’m going to be out of town next week (long previously planned trip with non refundable tickets), she’s fine with me starting when I return. It’s only going to be two or three days a week, but with Retail Hell Season (you know, Christmas) just around the corner, and with my very open availability, I should get some decent hours in November and December.

There are still things I need to work through and I still need to figure out a few other things.

I might not always act like it, but I know in the long run, it’ll be alright.

And one day Karma will swoop down on a former manager with her wrath. I can honestly say I would love to be the fly on the wall, pointing and laughing when that happens.

Leave a Reply

