this and that

My part time job starts on Wednesday. It’s just to fill out all that FUN! NEW! HIRE! PAPERWORK! /sarcasm. I did go to a training product knowledge thing last night. It was for a vendor who sells appliances and they are based out of Australia. I WANT ALL THE THINGS.

I’ve been drooling over the stores website and have mentally spent a paycheck. Or two. Have I said I WANT ALL THE THINGS? Yes?

Vacation was good, as I did the proper thing and spent my time eating and drinking my way through the city. My mom is in freak out mode over my now very under employed status. I guess she thinks that we’ll be homeless or something.

I’m ready to get back to work, even at part time. The time off has been nice but I’m getting ants in my pants and have been looking for excuses to get out of the apartment for a few hours a day.

Chicago has an amazing zoo, probably one of the last free zoos left in the country, and me the crazy cat lady always has to visit the big kitties, so I spent a few hours there on Saturday just walking around the big kitty house. Big kitties all napping in the sun, so funny how much alike they are to their small feline cousins.

I’m back to letting my nails grow. It was just a few years ago that I finally decided it was time to put on my Big Girl Panties and stop biting them (I was chopping on the damned things down to the quick). Working in retail usually doesn’t allow for pretty long nails, but I’ve found a length that I can work with where they don’t always chip or break and they still look nice. With the rug being pulled out from under me last month, I went back to chomping for a few days. Ouch. When I’m letting them grow, I try to keep them painted so I’m not tempted to chew. Sometimes it works.

I’m also taking advantage of this not working thing to get up and, weather permitting, go out on the beach to watch the sun rise. I usually get out about thirty minutes before the sun comes up. I figure in a few weeks, it’ll be too chilly so I’m getting out there while I can.

I’m debating on if I want to do NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve signed up for it in the past, but have never finished a month. Maybe since I’m only working part time, I can do it.

I have been cooking up a storm with all this free time. I always like trying at least one new thing weekly and there’s always some tried and true things to cook.

My schedule will be changing weekly (last job it was a set schedule), so I’m sure my ‘grocery day’ will change weekly as well. As long as I don’t have to deal with The Crazy on a weekend, it’s all good.

.

Leave a Reply

