i can’t believe the news today

Lots going on in my corner of the world.

Job #1 is going to an auto scheduling thing. Meaning a computer will be doing the schedules for the entire company. Ha. Been there done that a couple of jobs ago. Total fuckup because a computer cannot judge the fact that life happens.

Job #1 wanted me to give at least 3 or 4 days availability. But who is to say that I’d be scheduled on all those days? Maybe one week I’d get 3 days, maybe the next I’d be on for 1 day and maybe even the next week, I’d be fucked.

As a result, and after explaining the situation to job #2, they (#2) offered me 35 hours a week and a dollar raise. No benefits (other than, of course, the EVIL EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT), but given that this is the first ‘full time’ gig that I’ve had since the museum so rudely let me go, I’m a gonna take it and run.

I gave notice to job #1, my last day will probably be next Saturday. And yes, I’ve already taken advantage of the EVIL EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT with them. Might as well, right?

I have decided to check out that online degree thing. I still need to oh, CALL THEM. And get my transcripts from where I attended college eons ago, and see about what sort of financial aid I can get, but yeah. I think, given that I’ll now be working full time, the online thing is the way to go.

I’ve had a number of friends tell me that the work load can be on the heavy side, so I think I’ll start out with just taking one class (hello Math, have you missed me?) to get a feel for it.

And I’m going to stop on the job hunt, at least for now. While I do need insurance and all that shit (paid vacation. Man I miss the obscene amount I had from the museum), I wasn’t giving my 100% at either job#1 or 2. Now that Job #2 (um, hereby known as The Cafe Gig)is full time, it’s only fair that I am THERE when I’m you know, there.

Let’s see, what else. I fly home in 80 some odd days for a long weekend of eating ALL THE SEAFOOD that I can stuff into my face.

This time last year I was in full U2 SILLY FAN GIRL OMG I HAVE TICKETS FOR ALL FIVE SHOWS I’M GOING TO SEE MY BOYS LIVE mode. Ahem.

Here’s a fun fact….I have gained back ALL the fucking weight I lost last year. Not happy about that.

The cat will be 17 at the end of next month. She still has the mentality of a 2 year old human. No signs of slowing down.

The whole lemme publish a book on the lake pictures that I took last year has really been put on the back burner. I want to do it RIGHT and by that I’d love to do a coffee table quality book, but that shit costs money and money I don’t have. So.

And I’ve got a bee in my bonnet to try some sort of journal entry a day challenge thing for next month.

I think that’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

