plan b….?

So I think that getting a paralegal associate’s degree is the way to go.

No, it’s not what I reallyreallyreally want to do.

Yes, it’s really more of a consolation prize.

But.

Entry level salary for such jobs in the Chicago land area start at 40k.

I’ve never made that much before. The closest I got was when I left the Evil Department Store. When I left (*cough got fired for doing MYFUCKINGJOB cough*), I was at around 30k.

Also, the First Nation Bank of Mom offered to pay if I got said degree via the city’s community college. While I will try for grants and scholarships, I can’t pass up that.

So.

My mom and step dad live in another state. I had a *bright* idea of trying all the state colleges for online paralegal courses since I could use their mailing address and save that way.

You would think that at least one of the immediate ones that come to mind would offer  something. Ha. Nope.

I’m not going the ‘tech’ school route since all such places are really the for profit rob you of your money schools.

And I have to consider the placement rates. As in, what’s the placement rate of getting said degree via the city’s community college vs the various local (and pricey) private schools.

Lots to think about.

Right now, though, by this time next week, I will be stuffing myself silly with ALL THE SEAFOOD.

 

 

 


Leave a comment